

# **2018 AGM MINUTES**

# Sunday 3rd February 2019, 1pm

# Rosedale Cottage - 28 McIntyre Rd, Sandy Creek

## 1. Welcome and apologies

Present: Karren Carmen, Naomi Leavesley, Karen Alderton, Andrew White, Stella Harbison, Bill Harbison, Tania Drever, Melanie Scott, Jodie Luck, Andrew Luck, Ray Heinrich, Kelsey Bright, Melissa Bright, Julie White, Ron Malone, Bob Masters, Mary Chirgwin, Jess Aistrope, Trudy Menzies, Jess Shillabeer, Tracy Brandon, Rachael Barnett, Cheryl Bullock, Jil Bourton, Mandy Barth, Di Kajar, Lisa Brown, Colin Brown, Jody Smith, Nicki Samson-Ward, Jill Ross, Rose Ross, Wendy Grundy, Steve Ellis, Cherie Causby, Lainie Ray, Kylie Sandford, Paula Van Eck, Tony Van Eck, Kimberley Van Eck

Guests: John Lawson, Libby Lawson

Apologies: Faye Gallagher, Deb Smith, Sam & Dennis Uren, Tay Schroder, Dani Onizsk, Catherine Hollinsworth and Bronya Kennedy.

### 2. Minutes of previous AGM

Motion moved by Mandy Bath: removal of paragraph on pg 3, section 4 of President's 2017 report as it was deemed to not be in the best interest of the sport.

There were no supporters for the motion

There is no record of any motion made to accept the 2017 Minutes. As more than 12 months has passed since the 2017 AGM we will let this matter lie.

3. Presidents 2018 Report – Bill Harbison.

See attachment 1 – Presidents report

## 4. Presentation of Financial reports

Committee was unable to table an end of year financial statement.

John Lawson from Your Personal Accountant was employed by 2018 SMC to manage accounts.

**Action:** New SMC and treasurer to finalise the 2018 accounts and send to auditor. Audited financial statements to be provided to members once completed.

#### 5. Constitution amendments

No amendments tabled for consideration

**Action:** 2019 incoming SMC to undertake a review and update of the SAERA constitution.

#### 6. Elections of Committee

# (a) President:

Naomi Leavesley nominated by Karren Carmen. Naomi Leavesley declined.

Tracy Brandon nominated by Mandy Barth, seconded by Di Kajar

Melanie Scott nominated by Bill Harbison seconded by Stella Harbison

Votes counted & verified by independent Libby Lawson: Tracy 11, Melanie 17.

- (b) Secretary: Melissa Bright nominated by Jodie Luck.
- (c) Treasurer: Rachel Barnett nominated by Cheryl Bullock
- (d) 2 AERA delegates:

**Action**: SMC to decide on the two delegates first meeting and to provide members with the outcome.

# (e) Logbook Registrar:

Proposed motion for the Logbook Registrar to be a member of the SMC

Moved: Bob Masters Seconded: Tracy Brandon

**Action:** SMC to advise membership of outcome.

### (f) Committee members

Tania Drever, Andrew Luck, Jody Luck, Kelsey Bright, Cheryl Bullock, Jess Aistrope, Stella Harbison, Bill Harbison all nominated

Jess Aistrope declined her nomination and as such no vote was required

## 7. Life Membership

Faye Gallagher was nominated by Jil Bourton Seconded by Cheryl Bullock for Life Membership

Under section 4.8 of the constitution:

- a) A life member of the Association will be a person who has given long and meritorious service to the Association.
- b) Life membership will be awarded by the State Management Committee on behalf of the members of the Association, at an Annual General Meeting of the Association, where an appropriate token of recognition of the life member's services will be presented.
- c) Life membership will not be required to pay membership fees but will have all the rights of an ordinary member of the Association, and are also subject to the rules of the Association and shall be bound by the rules and regulations of the AERA and SAERA as amended from time to time.

Cheryl Bullock spoke to the motion and provided a short summation of Faye's contribution to sport for over twenty years as a rider, TPR, Chief Steward, Ride Secretary, Logbook Registrar and Committee Member. Faye's dedicated and professional approach to each and every role was commendable and the precedence she has set has created a very high standard for the future riders and officials to aspire to.

Nomination was unanimously supported

8. Appointment of the Auditor for the next financial year
John Lawson from "your personal accountant" will be SAERA's auditor for 2019.
Motion: Melanie Scott, Seconded Karren Carmen unanimously supported

## 9. Other Business:

#### **Ride Trailer**

Motion: that SMC organise an assessment by two independent engineers within 60 days of the AGM and report the assessment back to members. SMC are to undertake whatever is deemed necessary to get the trailer safely back on the road.

Moved: Mary Chirgwin

Seconded by Bob Masters

#### **Members Protection Policy**

Tania Drever provided a brief overview on the Members Protection Policy

**Action**: SMC to finalise and ensure Members Protection Policy is applied

Due to the extreme weather conditions (43 degrees) Melanie Scott closed the meeting and undertook to address the remaining items on the agenda as SMC business.